New Recordings

Brass Band Buizingen/Longbow
Price € 20






Luc Vertommen


Peter Sheppard Skaerved






LUC VERTOMMEN, conductor



Recording venue: C.C. ‘Stroming’ Berlare (Belgium) & All Saints Church (Tooting, London)

Recording dates :  December 2013, June 2014

Recording engineer and digital editing : Anteun Hoesen, Jonathan Haskell (Astounding Sounds) [for Nigel Clarke]

Musical advisor: Michel Leveugle/Nigel Clarke

Text revisions: Andrew Elliott

Photo: Digitalcreation/Vincent Coomans, picture taken in Strépy-Bracquegnies (ascenceur numéro 3).

Artwork: GK Graphic Design

Publishers: Studio Music (1/10), Kirklees Music (2/3), Salv         ationist Publishing and Supplies Ltd. (4/5), Novello (6), Band Press VOF (7/9), Nordic Sounds (8).

Special thanks to Peggy Delhaye (the love of my lif:e) for her support and confidence in this project, Brassband Buizingen and musical director Luc Vertommen, Peter Sheppard Skaerved, Longbow, Stan Nieuwenhuis, Nigel Clarke, Tom Davoren and Ludovic Neurhor for their new compositions and to Michel Leveugle, Anteun Hoesen and Jonathan Haskell for their invaluable assistance during the recording




1.  South Loop on the CTA                                                                  Tom Davoren.............. 3’24’’


2.  Concerto for Flugel Horn opus 87                                       John Golland............................ 11’45’’


3.  Y deryn Pur (The Gentle Dove)                 traditional Welsh Song arr.  Ludovic Neurohr  5’29’’


4. Swiss Rhapsody                                                               Leslie Condon ……………11’01’’


5. So Glad!                                                                         William Himes…………………3’13’’


6. Flight                                                                            Philip Wilby………………9’08’’


7. Land of make believe                                                     Chuck Mangione arr. Luc Vertommen  6’23’’


8. The Children of Sanchez                                                   Chuck Mangione arr. Reid Gilje 6’01’’

9. Early Skies                                                                    Stan Nieuwenhuis………………6’15’’



10. The Scarlet Flower   (Concertante for flugel horn and string orchestra)       Nigel Clarke     16’22’’






(Tracks 1,3,4,7, 9 and 10 are world premiere performances)


Total playing time:  79’48’’




Belgian (born British) John Cockerill (1790-1840) was brought by his father to Belgium where he continued the family’s entrepreneurial tradition and founded an ironworks and a mechanical engineering company which produced the first Belgian steam locomotive.  Before 1880 the coal authorities in the central region of Belgium constructed a waterway connection with Mons (the birthplace of Sébastien Rousseau) and Charleroi/Brussels.  To overcome the difference in height and due to the lack of water Jean Kraft Saulx (engineer for John Cockerill) proposed a formula of hydraulic elevators.


For my first solo CD I tried to overcome the same difference in height that Jean Kraft Saulx solved and selected a wide repertoire for flugel horn solo which flies over the past and present and looks to the future.  We look back to some neglected, sometimes obscure and iconic solo works from the past (Leslie Condon and John Golland) who both succeeded in producing solo works to highlight the unique sound of my instrument.  We then fly to a most extreme trip into the future, which was only possible due to the immense talents of present day composers Tom Davoren, Nigel Clarke, Stan Nieuwenhuis, Ludovic Neurohr and Philip Wilby.   We even float into the lighter repertoire thanks to William Himes and Chuck Mangione.    I hope you enjoy this FLIGHT through the flugel horn repertoire as much as I did.

Sébastien Rousseau.





Tom Davoren visited Chicago in December 2013. Amongst the most striking landmarks of the city is its transport network (CTA - Chicago Transit Authority), from which many will recognise the famous train know as The L or The Loop.  Whilst The L is much like other famous city rail networks such as the London underground or Paris Metro, it does have two unique factors. It runs above the streets on a raised metal platform and the outer shell of each train is wrapped in a gleaming aluminum shell, a quintessential image of 1950's Americana. The South Loop is the route which Tom traveled on during his time in the city, stretching around its famous Michigan Avenue area. The music itself is representative of that journey; with a relentless and driving rhythm, leaping technical riffs and soaring, wind-fueled melody the key musical elements of the piece.



After composing his first euphonium concerto, John Golland made the suggestion to compose a flugel horn concerto for Stan Lippeatt.  After he left Grimethorpe Colliery Band the concerto was a swan song for Stan Lippeatt’s playing career - it was premiered on 24th October 1992 by the Thoresby Colliery Band in Southwell Minster under guest conductor Major Peter Parkes.  It is one of Golland’s last works which he wrote whilst confined to a wheelchair.  The concerto is intended to be descriptive of the playing career and character of Stan Lippeatt, hence the high register at times, the pedal notes and the slight Latin American/Mexican feeling in the middle section.  Knowing that the premiere would be in the Minster, John Golland had the idea of using the bells of the Minster in the opening section.  He stated that the flugel horn should be played and nurtured in a very lyrical way.  Unlike a lot of major works the ending is not triumphant but soft (muted) and slow, as the lyrical theme disappears into the distance to be at peace with itself.  John Golland passed away six months after the premiere of the flugel horn concerto and since then this piece has been one of the most neglected masterpieces for flugel horn and brass band.



Shopping Cart

You shopping cart is empty!

Quick Search

Search Sheet Music

Search CD's and DVD's